Developing country experts

Six developing country experts from different regions worldwide are part of the STDF and they rotate every two years. Developing country experts take part in STDF Working Group meetings, share experiences on SPS technical cooperation, provide guidance to review funding applications, and promote the STDF in relevant regional and international events.
Lucy Namu        

Lucy M. Namu is currently Head of the Analytical Chemistry and Food Safety Laboratory at the Kenya Plant Health Inspectorate Service (KEPHIS). She has over 25 years' experience as a biochemist and, recently, as a food safety expert. Lucy has been the Kenyan lead delegate as Co-chair of the Codex Committee on Pesticide Residues (CCPR) in food, and on the working group to develop guidance on MRLs, and active in the Codex Coordinating Committee for Africa. Lucy holds a Master of Science in Analytical Chemistry from Loughborough University of Technology, UK, and a food safety specialization from the Technical University of Denmark.

Mirian Bueno         

Mirian Bueno is currently the Deputy Director for Food Safety at the National Plant and Animal Health and Agrifood Safety Agency (SENASA) and Codex Contact Point for Honduras.  She has worked on food safety issues for over 10 years, being actively involved with the development and implementation of policies and regulations based on Codex standards. During her career, she has participated in the negotiation and development of sanitary measures and regulations related to agricultural agreements for regional and international trade. Mirian holds a Veterinary Medicine Degree from the University of San Carlos de Guatemala.

Sanjay Dave         

Sanjay Dave is currently the Chairperson of the Codex Coordinating Committee for Asia and a member of the Scientific Committee of Food Safety and Standards Authority of India.  He has over three decades of experience working in agriculture, food safety and supporting the work of standard setting bodies. Previously, he was the Chairperson of Codex Alimentarius Commission, has served as the Agriculture Adviser in the Mission of India to the EU at Brussels and Director of Agricultural and Processed Food Products Export Development Authority in the Ministry of Commerce in India.

Rogério Pereira da Silva   

Rogério Pereira da Silva has held several key positions, including Deputy General Negotiation Coordinator for WTO matters and Coordinator of Codex matters in the Ministry of Agriculture, Livestock and Food Supply of Brazil. He has participated in numerous Codex Committees, the WTO SPS Committees and FAO/WHO Coordinating Committees. He holds a Masters in Agronomy and a Specialization in food safety surveillance from University of Brasília, Brazil.

Visoni Timote       

Visoni Timote is currently the Plant Pathologist Adviser working for the Pacific Community (SPC) and Executive Secretary for the Pacific Plant Protection Organisation (PPPO), which consists of 26 member countries and territories in the South West Pacific region. Previously, he worked for over 20 years as a border officer for the Biosecurity Authority of Fiji (BAF) – previously the Fiji Quarantine and Inspection Division – leaving BAF as the Chief Plant Protection Officer. He holds a PhD in Agricultural Science and is a graduate from Tokyo University of Agriculture (TUA), Japan majoring in Plant Pathology.

Ameha Sebsibe Woldemariam        

Ameha Sebsibe Woldemariam is currently Head of the Livestock Development Program at the regional centre of the Inter-governmental Authority on Development (IGAD), based in Nairobi, covering seven countries in East Africa. He worked in the Ethiopian agricultural system as a researcher and national coordinator of the small ruminant program and as the Director of a research centre for over 15 years. Ameha was also Director General of the Ethiopian Meat and Dairy Technology Institute. He has a PhD on Meat Science from the University of Pretoria and has authored journals, papers, and other publications.